top of page
Search
Writer's pictureChristina M. Sorrentino

Call for Convent Reform Podcast Interview



I was recently interviewed by Alycia Hartley, a former religious herself, who has a podcast called, "Call for Convent Reform." We spoke about the abuse that unfortunately occurs so often within the walls of way too many convents, and you can listen to my personal testimony of losing my vocation to the religious life because of abuse in my formation program. I am not the only one by any means who has experienced abuse, nor do I speak for every woman who has left the convent, but I do speak for those who are afraid to speak out whether they are still in the religious life or are former religious sisters. This major issue has been swept under the rug for far too long by the Church, and it needs to stop. Women who left everything to give their lives to God should not be abused in any convent or monastery, and the time has come for the truth to be spoken even if the majority refuse to accept it. But the fact of the matter is we have a crisis in the formation of many religious orders, and this is adding to the vocation crisis at least in the United States. I cannot speak for other countries and the experience of women internationally.


**Listener discretion is advised because some of the conversation is graphic.



1 comment

1 Comment


ALOMGIR KHAN
ALOMGIR KHAN
Sep 24, 2023

Praise the lord 🙏

Like
bottom of page