top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristina M. Sorrentino

This Same Cup


Photo: Wikipedia Commons, Francesco Trevisani, The Agony in the Garden at Gethsemane / US-PD


Why must I drink once more from this same cup;

the one of gall and vinegar;

sour grapes from the vine?


As tears trickle down

I remember the bitter taste,

like an unripened apple

picked too soon from the branch.


The offering of sweet drink

I knew would not last.

The kind and gentle peace

with a mother’s healing touch

shatters like a broken glass.


I beg the Lord for mercy,

cry aloud with a sorrowful plea.

With woeful words I beseech Him

to take this same cup from me.


Christ holds my hand

in the Garden of Gethsemane.

As He gazes into my eyes

I desire to suffer with Thee.


I walk the road to Calvary

stained with tears of blood.

My heart weeps profoundly

as I am united with the Begotten Son.


At the foot of the Cross

I behold the spotless Lamb.

His blood poured out upon the earth;

O the suffering of my Beloved,

not even the Son of God was spared.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page